bf goodrich drag radials

i did a search and came up with nothing. i know ive seen posts on this in the past...forgive me if im redundant.

looking for 15" tires, not sure if i wanna go with avons. taking a look at gf goodrich drag radials. i can at least run a matching front and rear set..lol
i prefer the nittos, but they offer nothing up front in the 555r.
anyone have any experience with these tires? can i track them a few laps?
can i road trip them?
thanks

Hi Mike:

IMHO I am not an engineer but I think the tires are designed a bit differently for drag racing allowing the side walls to wind up and absorb shock. I ran M&H racemasters years ago and they would wrinkle pretty good

Howard Jones

Supporter
Why don't you call up BFG and see what they have to say on the subject? Let us know what you find out.

Off the top of my head I wouldn't run them on track because I don't think they will work very well on a road course. However because they are street legal tires. I think they would be safe to run on the street. The question on performance would be on the front of the car. I don't think they are designed to be put on front and run hard around corners.

Posted By; Mike
anyone have any experience with these tires? can i track them a few laps?
can i road trip them?
thanks
I had a set for my Cobra, they are not a cornering tire. They are sticky and these tires are designed to get you to the track without trailering your car. You won't be able to drive on them if you get caught in rain and steering with them is hard. These are meant to be rear tires only in my opinion. Drag tires!!!

I hope this helps you....

Last edited: