Well I finally did it.

I've been skulking around on this forum for 6 months now. Living vicarously off of you guys the whole time. But now it's my turn - I am a new GT40 owner.
I officially ordered a kit from Peter Ransom at GT40 Australia. All I have at the moment is a picture of the promised chassis but plan to keep a "build site" active throughout.
I will have tons of questions as the day for delivery draws near - probably late March - and over the many happy months of the build phase.
I'll keep you all posted.
Look forward to discussing more!

Colin
chassis.jpg

[ November 17, 2002: Message edited by: dazzle ]

G

Way to go Colin! I am not sure if GT40Aus has updated their uprights yet or not. But if you'd like to use 88-92 Corvette rear calipers on your car which eliminates the PITA little drum parking breaks, drop me a line. It is very easy to do and makes it SOOOOOOO much easier and a more elegant solution. I used their uprights on my car and learned the trick from a DRB owner in Nashville, TN who grew up with Dennis R. Bretton (DRB) the originator of GT40Aus.

This guy's car is very nice and has some very good features. I think they have one of the best dashes in the business. Did you order the Mk III side windows? This is another fairly unique feature of GT40Aus. Their front end is so tightly build that you might want to seriously consider creating escape routes for the air coming in through the radiator (in addition to the nostrils.) Bob's front access panel did a lot of lifting at speed. I am not sure if this was due to the way he did it or because of the design, just little something to keep in mind. I do hope you also ordered the roll bar option. THIS IS A MUST INMHO!