Two GTDs

A mate of mine bought two GTDs the other day at a very good price and sold one to a friend. One was a "factory lightweight". Spent last Thursday comparing the RF and the GTDs along side each other. The GTDs are in need of some TLC but will come up very well. I was surprised by the amount of difference between the two makes. Will try and get them to join the forum. Regards

Norman, can you elaborate on the differences between the two? I have yet to see a GTD in person, but from the pictures it appears to use much larger chassis members (in the engine area anyway) with fewer triangulated members. I've also been told the GTD seating position doesn't leave much room in the footwells.

Hi Mark. The main things than I noticed (and I'm no mechanic) was the GTD was very narrow in the footwell area and we are trying to get my mate fitted in as he ain't small by cutting and rewelding the pedals and looking at a very thin seat. He has plenty of home grown padding so this should work!!! The RF would not have had this problem. Almost all the chassis appears different with the front remaining almost straight. The GTD has its upper wishbone inboard pick up points parallel
with the wheels whereas the RF has the front pickup well inboard. In fact I rang Robert and asked him why and he said its to do with ease of castor and camber adjustment. To be fair to these GTDs they are now over 15 years old and a lot has happened since they were built. These cars as mentioned will look good with work, as they had been pretty neglected. Regards

Robert Logan

Defunct Manufactuer - Old RF Company
Norman et all,

The two cars were actually part of a set of FOUR cars that were purchased from their respective owners via Brian Pepper for two collector friends. The cars were purchased in England 1993 / 1994 and shipped to Australia and two reside here in Victoria and the other two resided in Adelaide until recently.