SCCA, NASA, BMWCCA, PCA Racers in the US?

Ron Earp

Admin
I was wondering how many of our members in the US have competition licenses for wheel to wheel racing? I'm sure there are other organizations but I was sort of wanting to know if we had a lot of active road racers here on the forum or not? And, if you do maybe list what you drive and in what class you actively race.

Best,
Ron

Gordy

Lifetime Supporter
Hi Ron,

I've been racing with SCCA for 18 years, mainly in Formula Ford. I've been to the Runoffs a few times, just don't have the cash to be at the sharp end of the pack, although I did finish 10th once. Also gotten involved in vintage cars, a Lotus 41 F2 and a Brabham BT21 F2 car. Even had an Indy car for a while, but couldn't afford the right motor so I never ran it. I'm currently building a F1 car, a Lotus 49, which may take a few years, since all I have is the monocoque and the DFV motor. Everything else I will have to fab myself, but so far it's been fun.

I have raced SCCA since 1997, ITA RX7 and now a Swift in FF. I don't race enough either, I try to get out 3/4 times a year, just in California.

Ron Earp

Admin
Hi David,

I am also racing in IT and a little in SM. In the SE IT is very popular with 85 car fields for S/A run groups in some cases.

Gordy, you've ben doing this far longer than I for sure and have some really nice cars it appears.

I think there are some others on the board, Jim Dewar is one local to me and I'm sure there are more. Anyone else?

Jim Dewar

Supporter
I've done SCCA,IMSA(FV,FF), Circle Track and some vintage(Italian) for the last 36 years.I guess this dates me!