So the fun begins

Hi all

Well I finally did it. I've put my order in for a Tornado TS40. After a looking at several other cars and struggling to fit and things not being quite right I've decided that the only way I'll be truly happy with a car is if I build it to my own spec.

I know there will be people on here that have their own opinions on other manufacturers and would have gone for something different than a Tornado but I have been hugely impressed with the quality of Tornados kits. Andy and his team have got what they do down to a fine art and I am confident that even as a complete novice to kit car building that I can achieve a finished car. This is largely down to the quality of the build manual, the fact that every nut and bolt comes with kit direct from Tornado and the fact that I know Andy is always at the end of the phone if things become a little difficult. That after sales support is what has swung me and is invaluable to a new builder.

So wish me luck on this massive challenge I am about to take on.

Trev

Below is the spec for my initial stage of the build. I've tried to split the build process and costs up into 5 stages.

Stage 1 - Chassis
  • Tornado TSC GT40 basic component package
  • Lowered seating areas (by 1”)
  • Chrome plated suspension links and wishbones
  • Sand blasted & powder coated chassis frame (satin black)
  • 16 gauge Aluminium floorpan blank
  • Aluminium panel pre-cut blank set. ( 39 pieces )
  • 3/4" polished Aluminium angle. ( 13' )
  • 500 Aluminium sealed pop-rivets.
  • Riv nut set
  • Polyurethane sealant x2 cartridges
Trev

Ill also be building the car to the letter from the build manual. I know many people will often not follow the manual and choose to build in their own order and may apply additional modifications as they go but as I've stated I am completely new to any sort of kit car building so I am going to stick with what the build path Tornado advise.