Pros/Cons

I am in the planning phase of this project. I would like to do as much of the work as possible by myself (except for maybe the body and paint). Please share your thoughts to advantages/disadvantages of Tornado, CAV, or RCR. Any others I need to look at? I just finished with a Factory Five Racing Cobra and I'm a mechanical engineer so the build doesn't scare me. However, I am looking for originality. Here is a You Tube link to my Cobra build. Thanks in advance. http://youtu.be/K5qeMBxMbwM

Brian Kissel

Staff member
Admin
Lifetime Supporter
The search field is your friend. There have been many, many threads for this subject. Each and every one of them have their merits, and those are discussed in those threads.

Regards Brian

Arvin,
Your car turned out great. Nice work.
Like Brian said, use the search feature and spend a bunch of time on the build threads. Pretty much any question you will have will be answered here somewhere.

Lots of the cobra guys build a 40 for their next project.

Thanks for the responses. My budget is about $100k. Is that reasonable? I want to do the work. That is why I built a Factory a Five Cobra instead of buying a Superformance. The type if info I'm looking for is brand x only comes as a roller, brand y does not have the parts you need, brand z does not have monocoque chassis like original, brand a leaks water and falls apart, etc. what little I can gather it looks like I can build a RCR, CAV, Tornado. True?

Mike

Lifetime Supporter
If you want originality then buy a Superformance, tear it down and rebuild it yourself. It will cost more than $100k and be a bit of work but you'll end up with exactly what you're after.

Mike

Lifetime Supporter
You're right Walt, they don't "need" to be but Arvin states he wants originality and to build it himself. After building your GT40, are there any suggestions you can offer?

Tim Kay

Lifetime Supporter