GT40s.com
MK-I  MK-II  MK-III  MK-IV  GULF  MIRAGE  J-CAR  LOLA
GT40s.com
Home Forum Gallery Member Rides Support GT40s.com  
Register FAQ Members List Advertisers Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   GT40s.com > GT40 Market Place > Feedback: Buyers, Sellers, & Vendors

Notices

Feedback: Buyers, Sellers, & Vendors Consumer experiences related to GT40s. NOT for advertising.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-06-06, 03:04 AM   #21 (permalink)
BillE's Avatar
Gold Supporter
United States
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
GT40: Redding CA
Posts: 179
Rep Power: 5 BillE is on a distinguished road
Re: Is this a scam

THE YOU RECEIVE THE PAYMET OR NOT?????????

No payment yet. It would have got here by now. Unless it was stolen. so cancel it and send another. if you still wont the car. It is reddy to go




I think Joe is getting worride
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 79134-.JPGM6small.JPG (74.1 KB, 28 views)
BillE is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-06, 01:21 PM   #22 (permalink)
Keith1's Avatar
Keith1
10 tenths
United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: United Kingdom
GT40: Uh uh
Posts: 1,883
Rep Power: 25 Keith1 has much to be proud ofKeith1 has much to be proud of
Re: Is this a scam

BillE, Daves right - it's bandit country and both the post code and the address are false. Sorry mate although I know you weren't holding your breath...

Hey Dave! The Police actually GO there? [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/shocked.gif[/img]
Keith1 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-06, 03:28 PM   #23 (permalink)
David Morton's Avatar
David Morton
Lifetime Premier Supporter
United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Marlow, England.
GT40: The Jewel on the Thames: Marlow, Bucks
Posts: 2,506
Rep Power: 35 David Morton has a brilliant futureDavid Morton has a brilliant futureDavid Morton has a brilliant future
Re: Is this a scam

Bill,
I just rang the number and asked for Gari.It rang OK and the guy said he was Gari. ???
David Morton is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-06, 08:19 PM   #24 (permalink)
Keith1's Avatar
Keith1
10 tenths
United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: United Kingdom
GT40: Uh uh
Posts: 1,883
Rep Power: 25 Keith1 has much to be proud ofKeith1 has much to be proud of
Re: Is this a scam

Well that kind of makes sense as it's a mobile number - they would have to maintain contact with the scameee somehow (sorry BillE - you're now officially a Scamee). How does it feel?
Keith1 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-06, 09:13 PM   #25 (permalink)
David Morton's Avatar
David Morton
Lifetime Premier Supporter
United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Marlow, England.
GT40: The Jewel on the Thames: Marlow, Bucks
Posts: 2,506
Rep Power: 35 David Morton has a brilliant futureDavid Morton has a brilliant futureDavid Morton has a brilliant future
Re: Is this a scam

Keith, I wonder if the mobile number and the name are unwitting /unknowing accomplices. I didn't discuss anything with him except to confirm he is Gari but the spelling of first and second names is untypical. I'm sure the Western Union side of it would be in Romania. Bill, as yet nothing from the Police here. They are probably very busy handing out speeding tickets.......
David Morton is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-06, 11:10 PM   #26 (permalink)
jimbo's Avatar
8 Tenths
United States
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
GT40: annapolis md
Posts: 867
Rep Power: 15 jimbo is on a distinguished road
Re: Is this a scam

I don't know if any of you read Sports Car Market, but in a recent issue I advertised a 1966 Linguini Tortellini Alfredo Speciale Coupe, color alfredo white with marinara red interior, buy it now, it's spoiling. Obviously this was a put-on- we SCM readers play these sorts of pranks now and then. Despite that, I got a series of emails from some Nigerian jackass trying to buy the car, who I strung along for fun for a while, then finally pulled the plug on. It is amazing what some people will try to put over, and what some will believe.
PS I ate the car.
jimbo is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-06, 06:44 AM   #27 (permalink)
Keith1's Avatar
Keith1
10 tenths
United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: United Kingdom
GT40: Uh uh
Posts: 1,883
Rep Power: 25 Keith1 has much to be proud ofKeith1 has much to be proud of
Re: Is this a scam

Hey Jim that is fantastic! What a hoot. I hope it was the Piquante model - I heard they're selling like, er, hot cakes? [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/lol.gif[/img]
Keith1 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-06, 04:02 PM   #28 (permalink)
toy264's Avatar
toy264
Moderator
United States
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 264
Rep Power: 5 toy264 will become famous soon enough
Re: Is this a scam

Just an FYI here—
I do a lot of eBay selling and have found that “bank checks”, cashiers checks, certified checks, and the Quickie Mart type money orders are ridiculously easy to forge. They’ll be accepted by your bank and credited to your account. Three days later they’ll bounce and your account will debited. To add to the insult, you’ll probably get tagged with a $50 returned check charge. The last I checked, Russia, Indonesia, Ukraine, Philippines, Malaysia, Romania and Lithuania are currently blocked by PayPal as countries with poor internal controls, so a contact from one of them should be an automatic red flag.
In the States, the FBI (Famous but Incompetent) handles banking fraud. It isn’t on a par with bombings and such and they’ll tell you up front that you are probably not going to recover anything.
HOWEVER, a forged US Postal money order is a BIG deal to the post office, and Postal Inspectors make tracking scammers down and throwing their sorry butts in federal prison a priority! They sorta take it personally, I think. Smart scammers apparently know this and rarely take a chance with a forged Postal MO. Personally, if you can I think escrow is the way to go for big ticket items, but if you have to take a check, the Postal MO is the best of the lot.
John
toy264 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-06, 12:05 PM   #29 (permalink)
Phil's Avatar
Phil
3 Tenths
United States
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: New Jersey
GT40: scratch built Mk1
Posts: 348
Rep Power: 8 Phil is a jewel in the rough
Re: Is this a scam

Jim
Does that come with meatballs or sausage?
But seriously I have seen scams here recently with a vintage Corvette, and I think one with a Chevelle where you show up to see the car but it is in another location...usually a remote garage or such and they ask to see the cash...a bit of slight of hand and you are out the money. John's point is well taken..most of these guys will use fedex or dhl to avoid the mail fraud charges. The point is to be on your toes all the time, but these guys are always coming up with new scams, so there will always be that new scam that works once or twice.
As the saying goes "Cash is King", and if they really want the car they will travel to get it.
Cheers
Phil
Phil is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-06, 01:42 AM   #30 (permalink)
BillE's Avatar
Gold Supporter
United States
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
GT40: Redding CA
Posts: 179
Rep Power: 5 BillE is on a distinguished road
Re: Is this a scam

This wont make the police any money so not a lot of interest on there part. I have not herd from Mr Joe Bush in 3 days so he must have written it off. I did wont so much to make his life moor interesting. Keith David Veek . If you find your selves in Northern Ca look me up and we will hoist few off the stil.
BillE is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-06, 12:40 PM   #31 (permalink)
Veek's Avatar
Bronze Supporter
United States
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
GT40: Florida, USA
Posts: 271
Rep Power: 9 Veek is a name known to all
Re: Is this a scam

Look forward to it. If you are even in Central Florida, we'll tip one or two...
Veek is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-06, 10:10 PM   #32 (permalink)
BillE's Avatar
Gold Supporter
United States
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
GT40: Redding CA
Posts: 179
Rep Power: 5 BillE is on a distinguished road
Re: Is this a scam

Just got anuthr Email from Mr Bush---------LET ME KNOW IF YOU HAVE GOTTEN THE CHECK RECEIVED .persistent isen,t he
BillE is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:16 AM.