GT40s.com
MK-I  MK-II  MK-III  MK-IV  GULF  MIRAGE  J-CAR  LOLA
GT40s.com
Home Forum Gallery Member Rides Support GT40s.com  
Register FAQ Members List Advertisers Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   GT40s.com > Welcome to GT40s.com > Site Questions, Suggestions, & Comments

Notices

Site Questions, Suggestions, & Comments Need help with the forum? Look here!

Reply
 
LinkBack (1) Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-09-07, 08:55 AM   1 links from elsewhere to this Post. Click to view. #1 (permalink)
llarsen's Avatar
llarsen
Admin
United States
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Raleigh, NC
GT40: Sabre
Posts: 2,074
Rep Power: 29 llarsen has much to be proud ofllarsen has much to be proud of
Bogus GT40s.com Site Feedback Form

All,

If you get an email that has a subject line like "GT40s.com Contact Us Form - Site Feedback", it is a bogus email! We have not sent out any feeedback forms.

Lynn
__________________
Sabre GT40/5L EFI/G50/50
Always verify parts or products discussed for your own use.
llarsen is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-07, 09:25 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ron Earp's Avatar
Ron Earp
Retiree
United States
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 4,012
Rep Power: 58 Ron Earp has disabled reputation
Re: Bogus GT40s.com Site Feedback Form

My wife was telling me about how a lot of these things work.

Bots go out to sites and look for things like "Contact Us", "Feedback" etc. and then take text from that and stuff it into an email. Where do they get the email addresses to mail to? They mine the same site for as many email addresses they can find. Then, they email those addresses with the text they pulled from the site so that the email "looks" like it should "go" with the site. They attach their worm or virus and hope you open it!

There are many, many, many other schemes that do this too but I thought I'd put a bit of info out there for how this happens. The email doesn't come from GT40s.com or anything like that, but it'll have a line identifying GT40s.com somewhere in hopes to fool you.

Ron
__________________
Ron Earp
Enjoy the forum? Support GT40s.com
Ron Earp is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-07, 09:53 AM   #3 (permalink)
Keith1's Avatar
Keith1
10 tenths
Cayman Islands
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: England
GT40: Nein
Posts: 1,988
Rep Power: 26 Keith1 has much to be proud ofKeith1 has much to be proud of
Re: Bogus GT40s.com Site Feedback Form

Thanks for the warning guys.....
__________________
Yours Sincerely, Keith Hardy
Keith1 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-07, 11:35 AM   #4 (permalink)
jonathans's Avatar
jonathans
Silver Supporter
United States
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: TN, USA
GT40: RCR
Posts: 351
Rep Power: 7 jonathans is just really nice
Re: Bogus GT40s.com Site Feedback Form

That is why you should never post your email address on a web site. I publish my company web site and I always protect email addresses from bots by using a java script to stitch together the email addresses from a couple of variables.
__________________
RCR GT40
Build Page: https://home.comcast.net/~jonathanstrain/
jonathans is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-07, 02:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
Fred W B's Avatar
Fred W B
2 Tenths
South Africa
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Port Elizabeth
Posts: 252
Rep Power: 5 Fred W B is just really nice
Re: Bogus GT40s.com Site Feedback Form

Quote:
They attach their worm or virus and hope you open it!
Help me, I'm not the most IT literate bloke. Why would they want to do this?

Cheers

Fred W B
Fred W B is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-07, 02:19 PM   #6 (permalink)
llarsen's Avatar
llarsen
Admin
United States
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Raleigh, NC
GT40: Sabre
Posts: 2,074
Rep Power: 29 llarsen has much to be proud ofllarsen has much to be proud of
Re: Bogus GT40s.com Site Feedback Form

Fred,

It can be to collect data from your computer. Generally, they are looking for active email addresses, which are then compiled and sold. The larger the list and the more valid addresses it contains, the more it is worth.

And, then there are the ^$$holes who are just malicious and send out viruses.

Lynn
__________________
Sabre GT40/5L EFI/G50/50
Always verify parts or products discussed for your own use.
llarsen is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-07, 02:41 PM   #7 (permalink)
Keith1's Avatar
Keith1
10 tenths
Cayman Islands
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: England
GT40: Nein
Posts: 1,988
Rep Power: 26 Keith1 has much to be proud ofKeith1 has much to be proud of
Re: Bogus GT40s.com Site Feedback Form

I think it's mainly data capture for spam.....
__________________
Yours Sincerely, Keith Hardy
Keith1 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply


LinkBacks (?)
LinkBack to this Thread: http://www.gt40s.com/forum/site-questions-suggestions-comments/21073-bogus-gt40s-com-site-feedback-form.html
Posted By For Type Date
GT40s.com This thread Refback 03-09-07 09:26 AM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:34 PM.