Bob's DRB Build #112

Time to start a build log, I picked up my BCU on Thursday late afternoon, and with the help of Peter, and Gary and Mirnes, managed to get the unit strapped down on to the trailer, I had to transport it on the caster frames, as access to my garage is a challenge. I had to reverse up a steep drive, then 90 degree turn, tested my manoeuvring skills, but got it first go.
But is now in and the build can start, I have 3 weeks holiday over Christmas, so have lots of time.
I have done a few ground up restorations on vehicles over the years but this is my first ICV.

Attachments

• IMG_6273.jpg
    IMG_6273.jpg
    119.5 KB · Views: 568
  • photo (5).jpg
    photo (5).jpg
    137.3 KB · Views: 499
  • 20131219_165751.jpg
    20131219_165751.jpg
    257 KB · Views: 458
Bob, I'm new to this and want to know what a DRB is and BCU. I to have
a couple of restorations under my belt. I'm looking at what GT40 I want to Build.
Good Luck, John

Hi John,
DRB is the company that manufactures the GT40 kit, and a BCU is the Body and Chassis Unit. There are a few in the US and owners are active in this forum.

Hey Bob,
Good on ya there are afew of us around the Brisbane suburbs. Myself (RF) Pete McCluskey's (DRB) happy to help with any tips.

I will send you my mobile on private email

Well it's been a while, I have been busy, working my way through the first tasks.
Cross member is made and fitted, steering column is mounted, centre tunnel and seats in but not fastened, waiting for my pedals to arrive, should be on Monday, so I can position everything, fuel tanks are in, and just working on the filler and breather tubes.

I have made the parts for the door locks, exterior handles are nearly finished, but I have a question about the interior door handles, I would like to put them in the position shown, as I think the shape sort of follows the door quite well, but everyone seems to put them at the bottom of the door, am I missing something?

Cheers
Bob

Attachments