bump steer

I have gotten my steering rack, a unit from Flaming River. The rack mounts are a little narrower than what comes on the DRBs(15 1/2 vs 17) and moving them is no real problem. The point of the universal joints(don't know its real name) in the rod ends are 24" apart. The mounting bolt for the lower A arms are 24" apart. My question is, will this create or increase bump steer and if it makes it worse, what are my alternatives. I believe I read somewhere that raising the rack will help cancel out the bump steer problem. Where does the line of the shaft have to be in relation to the mounting of the rod ends(C-4 Corvette suspension)? Not being an engineer, I am way out of my knowledge base here. I also don't want to make a bunch of holes in the shiney new stainless getting it mounted. So a little info from the more knowledgable ones would be appreciated.

Bill

Last edited:
The best thing to do is to put the rack in and clamp it in position and check the bump steer. Depending on the results you get you can then shim it to raise the rack or move its position forward or back and clamp again and recheck until you get it right.

Regards

Paul,
Thanks for the imput. Since I have to move the "stock" mounting position to get the mounting holes to line up horizontally, I wa hoping someone would chime in on the vertical component. I plan on taking the car to a well known Corvette racing shop next week for front end work. They may be able to work out the bump steer. I was hoping I could go in there armed with a little information. The lower A arms have a little room for front and back movement and will have to be shimmed into place just as they do for a factory setup. I was hoping that I could get info on the geometric placement of the rack(3D) in relation to the location of the steering arm. Here are some pics of what I am working with.

Bill

Attachments

• P1010237 (Small).jpg
    P1010237 (Small).jpg
    62.9 KB · Views: 922
  • P1010239 (Small) (2).JPG