GT40s.com
MK-I  MK-II  MK-III  MK-IV  GULF  MIRAGE  J-CAR  LOLA
GT40s.com
Home Forum Gallery Support GT40s.com  
Register FAQ Advertisers Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   GT40s.com > >

Notices

GT40 Tech - Chassis,Brakes,Tires,&Wheels Chassis and Handling.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 3rd April 2018, 10:15 AM   #1
Mitch Krause's Avatar
Mitch Krause
Silver Supporter
United States
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: United States
GT40: None
Posts: 104
Brake Light Switch

Hello,

Does anyone have some pictures (search can't find any), or recommendations for a brake light switch. I am inclined to go with a manual switch based on various reading. Thought about microswitch, that would maybe have some clearance issues and be in the way on the floor mounted pedals (wires coming out towards the driver), looked at the arm type, looked at the spring activated ones, just not sure what might work well and best.

Anyone have advice (and especially some pictures).
Mitch Krause is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2018, 10:46 AM   #2
Silver66fb's Avatar
Silver66fb
A Tenth
United States
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: League City, TX
GT40: SPF #P2334
Posts: 177
Re: Brake Light Switch

Hi, Mitch. Many people use a brake pressure switch, which closes when it senses pressure increase in the line. They been around for a long time. Example: Speedway Brake Line Port Pressure Switch, 1/8 NPT
__________________
Tim Terry
SPF GT40P/2334
Silver66fb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2018, 11:01 AM   #3
Tom
Cobrajet's Avatar
Cobrajet
4 Tenths
United States
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Colorado
GT40: RCR MK1
Posts: 474
Re: Brake Light Switch

Mitch,
I was under the impression that the hydraulic switch came with the kit. I have one of these (Painless?) hydraulic brake switch connected to a brake Tee fitting. Simple and works great.

As for a microswitch, I have one mounted to the back of the pedal assy (clutch pedal) so you have to depress the clutch to start the motor.
Attached Thumbnails
Brake Light Switch-brakeswich-jpg   Brake Light Switch-rnb-785-436-jpg  
__________________
RCR GT-40 MK1, 418W/Borla Stack Inj, ZF, +2, Avons
Cobrajet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2018, 02:53 PM   #4
Walt Williams
2 Tenths
United States
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Florida
GT40: CAV GT40
Posts: 231
Re: Brake Light Switch

Mine is a pressure switch and it works fine
Walt Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2018, 04:00 PM   #5
Mitch Krause's Avatar
Mitch Krause
Silver Supporter
United States
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: United States
GT40: None
Posts: 104
Re: Brake Light Switch

I was under the impression that one should steer away from the pressure switches as they were unreliable and then having to re-bleed the system to change them out. Maybe they are not as bad as I was reading about.

I don't think one came with my system (or I have not found it), of course this one was a early version, so maybe not.

Tom, I can see how the clutch micro-switch might work easily on the floor mount (depress to close the switch), I was thinking about more problems with the brake where you really want it to open when the brake is depressed, with means it has to be on the side towards the driver, unless you have some complicated arrangement of springs. Having it towards the driver then seemed clumsy.
Mitch Krause is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2018, 09:10 PM   #6
Mark IV
I Have No Life
United States
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: W. New York
GT40: Superformance
Posts: 3,527
Re: Brake Light Switch

Use a genuine Ford switch and you will have no issues! C1AZ-13480-A or Motorcraft SW-24. These handle pressure
__________________
The GT 40 reunion at the Glen in 1989 was as close to Heaven as I'll get...
Mark IV is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 4th April 2018, 11:00 PM   #7
bill kearley
A Tenth
Canada
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Canada
GT40: CAV 193
Posts: 113
Re: Brake Light Switch

Or incorporate an old style mechanical, external switch used on late sixties and early seventies Ford cars and trucks. I goes on the end of the push rod.
bill kearley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2018, 11:35 AM   #8
Howard Jones's Avatar
Howard Jones
Gold Supporter
United States
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: N Braunfels TX
GT40: GTD
Posts: 4,088
Re: Brake Light Switch

I used one like this. I mounted it on a little bracket on the peddle box so that when your foot in off the brake peddle the switch is held off. As you press the peddle the switch is moved to the normally closed position and lights the lights.

Two reasons I like these, first you don't need to open the brake fluid system to change it, and second it can be replaced without effecting any other parts. I have a couple extras, one in the glove box of my two vehicle in case the brake light go out at the track.

If you use a micro switch or a slightly bigger one like this one, check the current rating. As you can see this one is 15 amp @ 115 volts. It will last just about forever at 12vdc and less than a half of a amp with LED brake lights.

I think it meant to be used as a crane limit switch inside the motor controller.

Really a fool proof way to do it, if you make your bracket nice a robust.

OMRON Snap Switch,15A,SPDT,Hinge Lever - 6X284'|'Z-15GW-B7-K - Grainger
Attached Thumbnails
Brake Light Switch-6x284_as01-jpg   Brake Light Switch-hpim2299-jpg  

Last edited by Howard Jones; 13th April 2018 at 11:48 AM.
Howard Jones is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2018, 12:19 PM   #9
Mitch Krause's Avatar
Mitch Krause
Silver Supporter
United States
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: United States
GT40: None
Posts: 104
Re: Brake Light Switch

Howard,

Very ingenious arrangement to get the switch to work. Thanks loads for the picture, that certainly helped me to picture how one might make things work without having stuff in front of the pedal.

Mitch
Mitch Krause is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
brake, light, looked, pictures, switch


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:15 AM.