Buy new 351w block or used engine? Pro/Con?

My apologies.... I'm a newb for pushrod V8's.... rebuilt VW 1.8L inline4, built a few VW air-cooled T1's, etc.
----------------------------------------------------
I saw a used 351w out of a 1983 Ford van for $300. Didn't say much in the add about bolt-ons such as alternator, etc.

Just wondering if it's worth it to buy used, redo the block completely vs just buying a new block?

Obviously there won't be any need for machining on a new block vs old.

Tried a search on here and didn't find anything.

I'm thinking forged crank, forged pistons, cam w/roller hydraulic lifters, intake, alum heads.

Any favourite pieces you'd recommend keeping an eye on the buck-meter vs bang?

Will hydraulic cams go over 6500rpm? Lift/duration that still streetable but revs high?
----------------------------------------------
Edit:
Prob go with injection for better driveability. Anyone running the powerjection III? Or other FI and how do you like it? How much did it cost?

Last edited:
Junkyard 351W are usually good up to around 800hp (I’m speaking of the block not the stock internals) So if you want more then that then a Sportsman or Dart is what you need. But I would think it would be cheaper to do a junkyard block and have it rebuilt then just buying new.

Also what kind of HP are you looking for? I have a Mustang that I put a 351W into 15ish years ago and with N02 makes around 500 hp and I’m using the stock crank and rods just good forged pistons, and I shift @6500rpm, so you might save some $$ just using the stock crank. Find a good machine shop and they can look at what you have and let you know if is something they can re-condition.

Terry Oxandale

Skinny Man