Windage tray for GTD40 (with 302 engine)

I am looking at changing the stock rear sump on my GTD40 for a higher capacity (baffeled) front sump with a windage tray.
The engine is a 1979 vintage 302.
If you have done this on a GTD, which sump did you use? I am trying to find a sump that avoids me having to significantly modify it to clear the chassis!

I am assuming there are no significant issues moving from a rear sump to a front sump - if there are please let me know!
Many thanks
Dave

Most use a Canton rear pick up sump pan, 7.5 inches deep and fits standard ( and lowered ) GTD302 engines without modification, Frank

Keith

I can't imagine any circumstances why you would want to go from a rear sumped pan to a front pan anyway. Most common acceleration forces would send all the oil to the rear which makes it the best location for the pick-up.

I have some experience of gated/baffled Moroso pans and whilst they are good value for money, I could never get mine to seal properly and ended up having to remove it because of the amount of oil it would lose through the rear main seal in hard cornering (it was a track only car).

I'm sure others will have different experiences, but if Frank says use a Canton rear sump, then I believe that would be the very best option!

Malcolm

Supporter
The canton sumps allow you to get more capacity of oil in the sump. I think they call them saddle sumps as they have lumps at both ends but shallow in the middle to go over the GTD cross brace under the engine. Oil pick up is the important thing here. Don't do anything that reduces the amount of oil picked up.

I have a windage tray sitting on the shelf if of interest. It came from my last 302 block. PM if interested.

Ron Earp

Admin
I can't imagine any circumstances why you would want to go from a rear sumped pan to a front pan anyway. Most common acceleration forces would send all the oil to the rear which makes it the best location for the pick-up.