Stainless mig welding a custom exhaust system

Just wondering if I should tackle welding up a custom stainless exhaust system (downstream of the 4-into-1 manifold and collector) for my bastardized Lotus Esprit project (with a SBF).

I'm a decent mig welder with mild steel - good penetration, strong welds, not the prettiest looking welds but not bad. I have a Miller 140 and it does a decent job even though it's not 220V.

Now, I've never welded stainless before, and I imagine it's more difficult. If I use some 309L wire with the right shielding gas....and a bunch of practice....I should be able to get a decent weld right? I notice the stainless Magnaflow mufflers I have are mig welded stainless (probably machine rather than human) and the welds look great.

I'm pretty good at cutting and shaping.....so if I should be able to put together a pretty good system downstream of the collectors to tie into the magnaflow x-pipe, then twin pipes out the back. What do you think? Get some practice in and see how it goes?

Attachments

• IMG_6996.jpg
    IMG_6996.jpg
    109.5 KB · Views: 586
  • IMG_7003.jpg
    IMG_7003.jpg
    132.9 KB · Views: 587

Julian

Lifetime Supporter
Welding skill is down to a lot of practice, if you have the time, energy and some stainless scrap to practice on I'd say what have you go to lose to try it. A more capable welder (machine) is going to make it easier and if you can save a bunch of money on the fabrication, perhaps consider treating yourself to a TIG. Mine is the best $900 Craigslist investment I made.

Chris Kouba

Supporter
I usually won't try to tell people what to do but I will tell you this Cliff: GET A TIG!