SPF GT40 Water Intrusion

Water intrusion into the SPF GT40.

This is what I found in over a year and a half working on SPF 2197. Some of the information in this HOW TO article I’ve posted in other threads but hopefully this should cover everything.

This whole thing started with a conversation with Lynn Miner and the problems he had with his car and some of what I will be posting came from his research.

As I see it there are the usually suspects such as the opening around the steering column, etc. those are ease to see and fix. The tough ones are the ones you have to take the car apart to see and get to. Also every pinch seam in the car is a potential place for rust to start, and most of these are in places that are not easy to get to.

As I’m no expert at this I’m sure other people will have better ways of doing this but I’m very happy with the outcome. I’m going back and start at the beginning and this will take more than one post but here it goes.

The Pinch Seams.

I’m not a big fan of the way cars are made where pinch seams are spot wielded together but it is what it is. After seeing pictures of many of the original cars rusted very badly in the sponson and tub area’s I decided that was where I would start. I barrowed some undercoating that Lynn had left over and it turned out to be a stroke of luck. There were two types of undercoating, a waxy one and one that was more like pant but was rubberized. An important aspect of the rubberized pant was that it was an almost exact match to the paint used to paint most of the SPF GT40’s chassis’s. It’s sold by Eastwood’s and is great stuff. I ended up using both types depending on the application.