Good Powdercoating - what to look for?

Hi all

I am taking a couple of test panels from my 40 to be powder coated today at a local company. As I've no previous knowledge of the company and powder coating generally can anyone tell me what process they should be carrying out if they are good.

The guy on the phone said I could have it powder coated or powder coated with a zinc primer (or something like that). Also should the panels be blasted (sand blasted I am guessing) before they are powder coated. They are only thin sheet polished aluminium so is it possible to blast them first and will this give better results?

Thanks

Trevor

YES!
Panels that are blasted (you need a fine, gentle media) then powder coated immideatly afterwards stand a very good chance of staying powdercoated.
99.9% of all bad experienced with powdercoat come from the base material not being properly prepared. In some cases they are just wiped over with solvent!
My RAM Cobra chassis was blasted then powdercoated straight away. Fantastic and a REAL pain to get off (as it should be) it was almost bonded to the metal. Even hammer blows wouldn't shift it.
If you decide not to blast it first, why not just use paint? powdercoat WITHOUT blasting is like throwing money down the toilet.
There is a company in Basildon Essex called Vulcan shotblasting V V good, everything done in-house and they've done work on original cars so must be up to scratch.

Simon

ps, no connection other than a satisfied customer

Randy V

Moderator-Admin
Staff member
Admin
Lifetime Supporter
YES!
If you decide not to blast it first, why not just use paint? powdercoat WITHOUT blasting is like throwing money down the toilet.

X-2... I've got a friend that owns a Powder Coating business and he's the first to tell you that the preparation of the part for PC is every bit as important as the rest of the process.