Need a battery...

Hi Guys,

I need some advice. I want to buy a battery for my '40, but I have no experience as to what I will need in terms of power for a big V8, plenty of electrics etc.

Can anyone in the UK give me some recommendations?

Thanks guys,

Graham.

Neal

Lifetime Supporter
Been using an Odyssey PC680 for the past four years. Compact, good cranking power. Be sure to use a battery tender if you go down this road.

Jim Rosenthal

Supporter
Get an Odyssey. They are amazing- very low discharge rate, huge power for their size, can't spill, and they will crank anything. The 427 Kirkham Cobras use a little square Odyssey that is maybe ten inches on a side, if that, and it rolls them right over. My GT40 has one in it, also I have one in my Cobra, and two in my boat as the house battery bank, which is MUCH tougher use than any battery will ever see in a car.

I get good deals from Harris Battery company, who I think are in Pittsburgh, but there are several Odyssey dealers out West, you shouldn't have any difficulty finding them.

DON'T get an Optima. If you want a flooded battery, get a Trojan. They are also very reliable as well. I used them for years in my boat, until I found Odysseys.

Ron Earp

Admin
Anyone have the name of a US distributor who sells online? Google comes up with plenty of UK sources for Odesseys but few US sources who actually list online. Looking for a racing 22.

I bought mine 5 years ago and it is still going strong. It came from
Portable Power Systems
405 W. 115th Avenue, Suite #3
Denver, CO 80234 <www.PortablePower.com>

303 460 8261 -- Fax 303 460 7306 -- e-mail [email protected]

Been using an Odyssey PC680 for the past four years. Compact, good cranking power. Be sure to use a battery tender if you go down this road.

Neal, I don't want to appear stupid, but what is a "battery Tender"?

Cheers,

Graham.

In my opinion the Optima is also a great choice. Had one in my Ferrari for 4 years without