Fitting copper pipes together

Hi all

I've got to the point in the build where I need to put together the cooling pipes. One of the front sections has to be connected to 2 elbow joints to create an s-bend. The manual says to connect the elbow joints back to back and on Bob's Tornado he has done this as shown in the picture below.

attachment.php

Is this correct, should there not be a small piece of pipe that slots in between the elbow joints to hold them together?

Also the next question is can anyone give me some pointers on connecting copper pipes with solder. I've never done it before so don't know how to do it and what tools etc I need. I was going to see if I could find a video on youtube but thought you guys could help.

Thanks

Trev

Apologies, I've just spotted the diagram in the build manual and indeed Bob's pipes are correct. So all I need to know is how to connect pipes together particularly these male/male sections

Trev

Howard Jones

Supporter
As long as all the joints are male inside female then it will be fine. If you did need to couple two males together then it would require a double female coupling. Two females would be done wiht a short piece of plain pipe between them.

Wow.........that got me a little hot just thinking about it.

Randy V

Moderator-Admin
Staff member
Admin
Lifetime Supporter
Trev - I would stub them with a smaller piece of tubing. Clean all surfaces well with a Scotchbrite pad or steel wool, use flux and a MAP Gas torch along with your favorite brand of Plumbing Solder...

Sweat the joints together.. Plenty of YouTube videos on how to do that..

I've just test fitted the pipes together using the male to male angles as shown in the manual using a bit of sellotape and they look spot on in terms of how far each end pipe is in relation to where the radiator will sit.

If I add a piece of copper pipe in between the elbows then won't it push the left pipe too far out of line with where it needs to be?

february2.jpg

february3.jpg