Miracle Carb

Rob Bromfield

GT40s Supporter
I have a Holley carb with 1850S stamped on the airhorn which makes it a model 4160.

However,sometime in it's life it's been converted to a model 4150 presumably by using the Holley 34-6 kit. I say presumably because the secondary metering plate has been swapped for what looks like a metering block and this new metering block doesn't have any idle screws so it's not some attempt to get four corner idle adjustment.

Because I'm an engineer I'm curious (or pehaps because I'm curious I'm an engineer) so I thought I'd try adjusting the two idle screws to get the maximum manifold vacuum at idle.
To my surprise I was able to screw both idle screws gently on to their seats without the engine missing a beat!

Aha! I though the powervalves leaking. So I took the primary side apart (someone has used the blue reusable gasket so this side has been taken apart several times in the past), extracted the power valve and used the not very scientific test of sucking on it.

There's no tear in the diaphragm as the valve actuates.

I'm assuming that there's no power valve in the secondary side as I haven't taken it apart (yet).

So out of curiosity, how does the engine continue to run with the idle jets screwed in?

Randy V

Moderator-Admin
Staff member
Admin
Lifetime Supporter
The 1850 and 6619 carbs of the day (mid 70's) were being shipped with different metering blocks in the primary side which were emissions oriented. You could not shut off all the fuel from the idle circuits, but you could shut off most of it. Some of those metering blocks actually did not control the flow of fuel, but air. I think by 1980, Holley gave up on the emissions metering blocks. I have a few stashed away somewhere out in the abyss (otherwise known as my shop) along with a note that says something like DO NOT USE taped to them.