Stewart Warner 240 misadventure,

So I am new to the whole GT40 thing, figured I would gather some parts prior to ordering a kit. Well I, like a lot of people bought a 240 A12 fuel pump, took it apart, including the switch, cleaned everything, followed every post on this site. Put it back together, got the switch to work (checked with multimeter) with the assembly Manual I got with the rebuild kit, applied 12 volts and got got an intermittent staccato like sound, nothing binds, every spring has great return and every gasket replaced, but it doesn't last. I would first love to try a NOS switch prior to sending it for someone else to look at. Anyone in the states able to help?

Charlie Farley

Supporter
Hello Steve,
Can you describe in greater detail exactly what happens when you apply power ?
When the fuel bowl is filled up, the noise should settle down to a rythmic click.
Speed of the clicks in dependant on what fuel flow you allow it.
Did you buy the rebuild kit on eBay ?
As if you did, you didn't get the full kit as made by SW.
The kit on eBay is based on one bought from me, but he has omitted the expensive to make metal parts.
Seems buyers post positive feedback as soon as they get the kit and as you know, you can't alter the feedback once submitted.
If i can help, i will.
Btw, there are very few NOS switches out there. If you find one i would think
of it like this...would you like being woken up after 50 years.. ?

From Steves post I got the impression he was testing it 'dry', is that a good idea? apologies if I have mis-read your post.