zf transaxle question

hey guy, i have a question that i hope you can answer. i know it may be the :wrongforum:,but you guys are probaly like me and general car guys. im building a replica diablo and im using a 331 small block ford with forced induction. will a zf mount up without an adapter plate. if so will it be as strong as my g50. if anyone has a zf in good cond that may be interested in a trade for my g50 contact me a AOL.com - Welcome to AOL.
motor2006.jpg

IMG]http://i18.photobucket.com/albums/b142/johnlahey/body023.jpg[/IMG]

You have to use the inverted bellhousing from Kennedy Engineering along with a 157-tooth flywheel, small starter and 10.5" Mustang clutch

The transaxles strength is dependant on its options and model number. There is a difference in gearbox internals from the 5-6 spd units, and NA. versus the turbo Porsche units. The ZF also differs as it continues back in vintage, although I am not an expert on the ZF yet.

Contact me with your G50's gearbox ID # and I will be able to tell you what it should have been originally equipped with internally.

Thanks.

thank ryan,and bill. where can i find the id numbers on my transaxle.in you opinion what is the best setup to go with for strengh as you can see my worries with the engine i will be adapting it too.
IMG]http://i18.photobucket.com/albums/b142/johnlahey/body023.jpg[/IMG]

Your welcome sir,

The gearbox id number is typically found in the middle of the gearbox on the midsection or bellhousing section at the bottom of the gearbox installed rear-engine, or if inverted for mid-engine it would now be on top. See the picture for referance, it is a shot of a G50-52 heading out for delivery. Notice where Stan's finger is pointing. Your id # should be in the same location, and should start with a G50 and followed by a type and id #.

Attachments

• Picture.jpg
    Picture.jpg
    144.9 KB · Views: 738