"Albins" 930 & G50 gear sets unlimited

Peter Delaney

GT40s Supporter
For what its worth, I have had some experience with Albins.

About 3 years ago, I sent my G50 down to Albins for a new higher ratio 5th gear set to be fitted. Whilst they had the box apart, they were to check everything & replace the synchros.

I got the box back about 3 weeks later, installed it the car, & discovered 3 things :

- could not select 2nd gear at all
- the new 5th gear set had a whine that could be heard miles away
- more "clunking" (lash) that I had remembered (in 5th)

After some discussions on the phone, I removed the box & sent it back to Albins (transport at their expense). Once they pulled it apart, I got an apologetic call - "someone" had fitted the 2nd gear synchro ring incorrectly (an easy fix), but, they didn't have any other 5th gear sets in stock (& were not going to have any for some months).

So, I got the box back & re-installed it. 2nd gear now worked, but I had to live with the horrible 5th gear whine, & the clunking was unchanged. After a couple of months & a few phone calls, they shipped me a new 5th gear set - all I had to do was find someone knowledgeable to install it (no way was it going back to them).

After lots of searching, I found Autohaus Hamilton (Porsche experts) in Brookvale, Sydney. By this time, I was also suffering from an increasing amount of lash in the whole transmission system (48mm of movement at the tyre with the opposite tyre locked & the box in 5th !!).

So out came the box AGAIN, & off it went to Autohaus Hamilton, along with the replacement 5th gear set. A couple of days later, they have it all apart & I get a phone call :

- the alignment of the pinion vs the crown wheel was all wrong - this contributed to about half the lash problem. Thanks Albins.