what type of hubs to use.

ok so im rather new to the gt40s, in the last week or so ive done enough reading to get a basic concept of how everything works and how fits together in the end, all except for where the axle shafts go into the wheel hubs. this is where im confused. what kind of wheel hub are people using, is it something from a kit, or are people using the same hubs that would come from the same car as the transaxle? im really confused.

thanks, tommy

Tommy:
It all depends on how your upright is constructed. Original uprights and some aftermarket units use a thru shaft and hub assembly with tapered roller bearings which require preload. Some use a unitized press in bearing that accepts a CV joint with a threaded snout which is splined to the hub, much like a front wheel drive setup. Then there is the bolt up bearing such as those found on Corvettes etc. that simply bolts to the face of the upright and accepts a splined shaft and hub. They all accomplish the same job essentially, and it all depends on how close you want the upright to look to original.
Do some searching on the forum and you will see a lot of setups to get some ideas.
Good luck
Phil

ok, thanks for the info. im not to worried about it looking original, more of just serving the purpose it was built for.

Hi Tommy,
I used a Jeep Cherokee 4X4 front hub that is like a cassette and bolted it to a billet upright. I used the Jeep disk with a Corvette caliper, it's very strong (4X4 front ends are rated one ton) and inexpensive. If you would like a picture of the hub I can get it for you.
Steve

Attachments

• 100_0216.jpg
    100_0216.jpg
    213.8 KB · Views: 428
I think the jeep ones are the ones TVR use(d), as such there are decent size (AP Racing) brake disks for them. As Steve says, inexpensive and strong.

Although wheels are limited with the PCD etc most people I think seem to get custom wheels (sometimes with knock-on adapters) so that isn't an issue.

Hi Tommy