Audi / VW 5 Speed

Hi i am new to all the Audi / VW transmissions so what is the Best 5 speed that will mate to the 1998 4.2 Audi v8 . what type of mods can be done to it to make it stronger . what is the max torque before it fails

should the parts be Cryogenic treated and heat treated or plasma ion nitride treated pleas you thought or experience on it will help

Mark, I'm not trying to be rude but I think you'll find a good many answers within the friendly confines of your local search engine on this forum. There are plenty of us using Audi transaxles in your car. If that's not convenient then contact Scott Dewitt (or check his posts) at www.Advancedautomotion.com He seems to know his Audi boxes pretty well.

i will try Scott since the search just brings up every thing and i mean every thing you would be better of just looking through every thread

For the bolt patterns I believe the 012 is the 5-speed that shares the 4.2l bellhousing pattern and I think the 01E 6-speed shares the same pattern as the 012...

I'm afraid I wont be much help with your question about the heat treatments etc though, sorry.

I did some more research and fond that cryogenic and induction heat treating will help but do not use Nitriding it makes the gear to brittle for high shock loading

Now i think Getrag made these transaxle so i went to there site to see what i could find and i noticed that in rating the trans they give a nm but also a max kg vehicle weight like the was a 6 speed rated for 380 Nm torque and max vehicle weight of 2050 Kg so i would think that as vehicle weight go's down then more torque can be applied

Mark,

You're right that as vehicle weight decreases then the max torque spec generally goes up, but it's an indirect relationship at best.