mid engine 944 transaxle

Hi, I wish to introduce myself I'm a newbie. I have been lerking for a while and I am amazed at the ingenuity of the members here, specifically with V8 transaxles. I too am relentlessly pursuing the affordable V8 transaxle.

The 944 turbo trans certainly is appealing, the 944 V8 conversion community appears to be happy with it. I know it doesn't lend itself to mid engine application, bell housing and input shaft not designed for clutch.

Now I'm no machinist, just an inquiring mind and I know there are members that may have thought of this but I have not read anything in my searches.

Is it reasonable to lop off the 944 bell housing, adapt the appropriate V8 bell housing and machine the input shaft for a clutch/pilot bearing or adapt a Audi 016 input shaft or a combination of the above?

There I asked, your comments are appreciated.

Search properly there is a thread where 200MPH (Julian) converts a 944 box into an 016. Plenty tough , very do-able.

Thank you for the responses. I have read Julians conversion, amazing. I have also notice that he is ditched this conversion for an 01E.

1. Is the 01E the new affordable V8 transaxle?
  2. In what cars and years can they be found?
  3. What are the other options?
Thanks, this all helps with my research.
K

The 01E FWD only was not used in any cars imported to the US so they have to be brought in from Europe. Not sure if any were used in Canada. The V8 transaxle is the Grazianio (sp?) from the Audi R8 or Gallardo that Fran is supplying for his cars. I like the Boxster S/Cayman 6-speed as it has linkage on it already for a cable shifter and should be good for up to at least 500 HP. I make adapters for the Audi and Porsche transaxles to V8 engines.

Thank you for the responses. I have read Julians conversion, amazing. I have also notice that he is ditched this conversion for an 01E.

1. Is the 01E the new affordable V8 transaxle?
  2. In what cars and years can they be found?