GT40s.com
MK-I  MK-II  MK-III  MK-IV  GULF  MIRAGE  J-CAR  LOLA
GT40s.com
Home Forum Gallery Support GT40s.com  
Register FAQ Advertisers Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   GT40s.com > >

Notices

GT40 Tech - Powertrain/Transaxles Transaxles and driveline - don't dare post engine things here!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 1st April 2017, 04:54 AM   #1
Stuart Lemanski
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2
Shifting for Audi transaxle (01e/01X/etc)

I've just joined the forum. I don't have a GT40, but I am building a Spire GTR for road use and found this site via google searches. I'm trying to make it as LoCost as reasonably possible.

I'm looking to use an Audi transaxle but there's obviously going to be an engine in the way between the gear lever and the gearbox, so I would think that a cable shift conversion is the way to go.

I've found the solution on offer from Cable Shift in Arizona, but at $679 + shipping + import taxes, it's not exactly a LoCost option. Can anyone give me any advice on what they have done?

Thanks in advance,
Stuart
Stuart Lemanski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st April 2017, 05:34 AM   #2
IanAnderson's Avatar
IanAnderson
Lifetime Premier Supporter
United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Ashford
GT40: Dax 40 Mk1 (Rov
Posts: 3,956
Re: Shifting for Audi transaxle (01e/01X/etc)

Welcome Stuart

Try
Wealden Engineering Development
Home
Southern GT - Manufacturer of the new Southern GT40 Replica-4vph5pp1uabok5jcqlrktoo7u5

All three have good units.

Ian
__________________
DAX GT40. Morgan 3.9 EFi, Worked by John Eales.
Renault Box, Always makes me smile!
IanAnderson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st April 2017, 02:26 PM   #3
Brett James-McCall Moderator
brettmcc's Avatar
brettmcc
I Have No Life
United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Essex, UK
GT40: RSGTD
Posts: 2,516
Re: Shifting for Audi transaxle (01e/01X/etc)

The cable shift system does not work with a 01X/01E, it is for the Audi5000/016.

I know this because I have one and have had to modify it. It is is not pretty what I have done, but it works. There are other ways to do it. If I had my time again...

Get a Focus ST170 shifter to modify (I have one if I ever re-design)
Then you need to create your leverage at the gearbox end. Have a look at my build log to see what I have done so far. There's also some people with neat 01E solutions too

Where are you in the UK Stuart?

Brett
__________________
Southern RSGTD; Mexican block; Audi 01X
I love the company so much I work for them and build them in my spare time....
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
brettmcc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st April 2017, 02:45 PM   #4
Bronze Supporter
United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
GT40: Essex, UK
Posts: 99
Re: Shifting for Audi transaxle (01e/01X/etc)

Hi Stuart, Cable Shift in Phoenix Az now do a unit for the O1E. I had the earlier unit originally but could not get 5/6 gears. Anyhow RCR and Cable Shift came to the rescue and we did a deal to swop it out many years after the original unit was supplied. 4th is good for 148mph so not a big issue initially!
Cheers
Roger Allen
Roger Allen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st April 2017, 07:02 PM   #5
Jim C's Avatar
Jim C
Silver Supporter
Australia
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: SYDNEY, AUSTRAL
GT40: RF 105
Posts: 1,720
Re: Shifting for Audi transaxle (01e/01X/etc)

I made my own shifter and mechanism at the gearbox for cable shifter 01e.
It worked perfect straight away.
I just had cables made to suit.

Between working designing /manufacturing and fitting it would have been 40 hours in it.

You will need a lathe and a welder, I can take a photo of it tomorrow as the car is at work presently.

Sorry about the hand sketch.
Disk 2 is welded to the shaft.
The end off the shaft has an m8 thread.disk 1 is bolted on and shimmed to give almost zero free play on the bearings attached to the bell crank forks.

Disk 2 actually has the the cable lever attached not 1 as in in the drawing.

I made it all out of 316 ss.

Jim
Attached Files
File Type: pdf 15031700.PDF (198.3 KB, 150 views)
__________________
If you say its to hard you have
already failed.

Last edited by Jim C; 1st April 2017 at 07:21 PM.
Jim C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st April 2017, 10:48 PM   #6
kaspa's Avatar
kaspa
10 tenths
Australia
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Maroochydore QL
GT40: i wish
Posts: 1,088
Re: Shifting for Audi transaxle (01e/01X/etc)

Stuart what model trans are you using, 012-016 are very easy to use a rod change.

cheers John
__________________
Steinard F5000 Steinard LMP Steinard M1B
kaspa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd April 2017, 06:14 PM   #7
Stuart Lemanski
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2
Re: Shifting for Audi transaxle (01e/01X/etc)

Thanks everyone for your replies!

I will be using a 6 speed 01X gearbox, code MPA from a Seat Exeo. It is a long geared diesel box, but the Spire has small wheels, so this will give about 10mph/100rpm in second, and a long legged 6th which will give 70mph at about 2000rpm. ( I am based in Cambridgeshire - I anticipate driving along the A11 to Snetterton when it's all done, so a 70 mph cruising gear will be appreciated...)

Learning how to weld and buying a lathe weren't originally on my "to do" list, so I will give the companies mentioned a call to see what they can offer. A good engineering solution for a few hundred pounds is worth it, but if it's heading towards a thousand pounds then I'm off to learn how to weld...

Next I need to work out what engine. As the car only weighs 400kg without the engine/trans, it's won't need huge power to go fast. I was toying with the idea of a Ford Ecoboost 2.0, but it could be expensive to marry it up to the Audi box, so perhaps a 2.0TFSI? (Everyone says 1.8T, but from what I can make out the main thing it has going for it is that I can be tuned to big power, but apart from that it's a thirsty, heavy, iron lump).

I have some phone calls to make in the morning...

Thanks again,
Stuart
Stuart Lemanski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2017, 04:01 AM   #8
Brett James-McCall Moderator
brettmcc's Avatar
brettmcc
I Have No Life
United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Essex, UK
GT40: RSGTD
Posts: 2,516
Re: Shifting for Audi transaxle (01e/01X/etc)

Stuart,
In reality it depends how your setup is. A lot of the UK people have to create because of the shifter being on the right in RHD car and the selector shaft is on the left of the box.

I too have a 01X, but mine came from an Audi. I'm only just down the road-ish at J30 of the M25 if you want to come and have a look.

Brett
__________________
Southern RSGTD; Mexican block; Audi 01X
I love the company so much I work for them and build them in my spare time....
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
brettmcc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th April 2017, 06:28 AM   #9
Jim C's Avatar
Jim C
Silver Supporter
Australia
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: SYDNEY, AUSTRAL
GT40: RF 105
Posts: 1,720
Re: Shifting for Audi transaxle (01e/01X/etc)

The 01e shifter is on the left as well.
The shaft you can bring it out on the R/H side.
16mm ss rod, I remade the housing on the left side.

Again lathe required.
If its on the L/H side all the more reason to run cables.

Jim
__________________
If you say its to hard you have
already failed.
Jim C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2017, 07:29 AM   #10
Udo
Fivepointseven
Rookie
Germany
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Germany
GT40: KVA/SGT
Posts: 25
Re: Shifting for Audi transaxle (01e/01X/etc)

Jim, can you publish some pictures? Thanks, Udo
Fivepointseven is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cable, found, locost, shift, transaxle


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:51 PM.