hey guys

Hey guys,

My name is Chris. I live in Connecticut. I was born in 1960 and I remember the GT40 when it was racing at LeMans. I saved up cereal box tops to get a toy one. If I remember correctly, they simply called it the Ford GT back then and the GT40 nickname came later. I'm a fan of classic racecars more than street cars and the Mk I is my all time favorite. The Ford GT is my favorite production car but I'd rather have a Mk I replica. As much as I love GT40s, there are reasons for you guys to dislike me:
1.)I'm not mechanically inclined. I understand basic principles such as pushrods vs DOHC, but I'm not good at working with my hands. Also, when you guys talk about really specific nuts and bolts issues, it's all Greek to me. If I ever bought a GT40 kit, I'd have to pay someone else to assemble it.
2.)It's not likely that I'll ever be able to afford a GT40. My financial situation has taken a major nose dive in recent years because of a bad marriage. If I ask you guys a question, it'll be purely for the sake of curiousity. They're also likely to be noobish questions because of reason #1.
3.)I'm a heretic. I would never dream of doing major alterations to an original GT40, but I don't worry about it so much with kit cars. There are some things that I wouldn't change even on a kit GT40. For instance, I prefer 15" wheels over 17s because I like the more classic look even if it means reduced performance. I want the interior and exterior styling to be faithful to the original. Here's where the heresy comes in, I like Chevy engines, particularly the modern LSx series. I like the idea of buying a modern crate engine with modern electronics, good reliability, low emissions and good fuel economy. They're also very light. I suppose I could find an aluminum SBF, but it sounds expensive. Correct me if I'm wrong about that. I feel the same way about the suspension. I want it to handle as well as possible, even if that means having a suspension that isn't original.