Bob Woods in Texas

I am a Professor of Mechanical Engineering at the University of Texas at Arlington. I have been the faculty advisor for the Formula SAE racecar team since 1982 and have been involved in several aspects of racecar design including suspension design and handling.

I will be building a GT40 using the Tornado Super Pro Package. I will start a build log entitled "Tornado GT40 in Texas". I have prepared a document of my story about the GT40 which is reproduced below.

My Story and Plans for the GT40

Some would say that the GT40 was the most famous and iconic racecar of all time. Some would say its design and aesthetics were timeless and that it would be just as stunning of a car if produced today as any car, a timeless beauty. I agree with both.

I have always been fascinated with the GT40. That and the Cobra, but the GT40 was more of a dream car for me. I have always wanted one, but I was just thinking about the original cars and they were way out of my price range. I didn’t really know too much about replicas at that time.

I guess everybody knows the story that Henry Ford II wanted to buy Ferrari, but when the deal fell through, he wanted to beat Ferrari at Le Mans. For this, he developed the GT40. The first two years of the GT40 were not so successful. On the third year of the GT40 effort, Carroll Shelby took over management of the GT40 team. In that first year at Le Mans, 1966, they placed 1-2-3. A GT40 then won Le Mans four years in a row, 1966 – 1969.