Hello from the West Midlands, UK!

Hi,
I’m Duncan, an Automotive Engineer from W.Midlands, UK. I’ve been considering the GT40 build for about nine months now, though before that I spent a year building a garage in which to build a kit car of some form. I’m currently thinking along the lines of a copy of James Harvey’s build – scratch built GT Forte with Audi 32V V8 / Megasquirt. This won’t be an exact replica, more of a slightly more modern look. Hence why I’m less concerned about using a Ford small block, though I haven’t ruled that out. The concern with the Audi unit is whilst it’s a nice modern alloy block that will mate up with the Audi box, there’s very little rebuild parts available. So it’s probably a case of fitting a used part and hoping for the best… I’m considering buying an early ’95 A8 and breaking it as a chance to test the engine before the build. Aluminium body should weigh in for quite a bit also and hopefully I can find one that won’t need a cat fitting.

First off I need to finish the kitchen that was “suggested” that I do first, then I’m planning on trip to Stoneleigh in May. The main issue for me was how cramped the cockpit was of the example I sat in at the Classic car show at the NEC. I’m hoping people would be so kind as to let me sit in a couple (with dropped ‘pans) at the Stoneleigh show so I can get a better idea of the space available. I’m just over 6’ with fairly standard length leg but found the example I sat in really closed in. I owned a Vx220 for four years and have driven plenty of other sports car without this issue so it was a bit of a shock.

Would like to say thanks in advance for all the help and answers to the questions I’m bound to ask. Have found this to be a brilliant forum so far I have to say.

Hi Duncan.

Good to see someone local, I'm also in the West Mids.
I'd offer you a sit in mine but it's both setup totally for me (at 5'8"), isn't lowered and is about 1m in the air with no floor, no seats and no doors. :)