New Kid in Kansas City

Hello, GT40ers! My name is Collins, my boss Chuck and I are building a couple GT40s here at our company in Kansas City. The forum has helped me quite a bit already, so I thought I would introduce myself and start asking some questions.

I'm a Mechanical Engineer, graduated from the University of Kansas in 2012. I was on the Formula SAE team there, I designed the wings for our 2012 combustion car. (We took first place in the Lincoln, Nebraska competition!) I have a few years of SolidWorks experience (design is what I do primarily at the company among other things) and have some composites experience from school. Our FSAE car was a full carbon monocoque, carbon wings, carbon wheels, etc. Fun stuff.

My boss's company made Cobra kit cars up until a few years back when their engineer passed away and halted the project. They also made a prototype GT that they sold as a rolling chassis. It was finished over the past few years buy its owner and we brought it back here to tune it; it's a good looking car. We have a full engine shop here with a very knowledgeable group of machinists that run it, in addition to both a four wheel chassis dyno and engine dyno.

Here's the completed GT prototype on our dyno:

The prototype car is a great looking car but the design is not what I would have done; we are making quite a few changes to the frame in this second build. I wasn't part of that build at all and can take no credit for it besides helping load it onto a trailer. :laugh:

The GT40 has always been a favorite car of mine; when I found out that my boss used to build kit cars (I didn't know until after I started working here) I was pretty excited. We decided to take our spare time and build a couple GTs for fun. We also have a few Cobra bodies laying around and all the jigs to weld up some more chassis', so we're making a few of those as well with help from a former employee who was the guy that welded them all together back when they made kits.