wheel from a famous GT40

Hi I am brand new to this and these cars look awsome!I have acquired a wheel thru a cash and trade situation and I believe what I have might be worth quite a bit of money to someone out there. Maybe one of you experts could give me a little guidance.

What it is: it is a wheel off of GT40 P/1012
Dan Gernies in the 60's (gathering dust and tarnish in an attic)
Don Davis bought it
someone on the team wrote 9 1/2 40 in yellow calk on the inside of it.
I also have a book by Ronnie Spain " GT40 an individual history and race record" and on page 211 it shows a picture of the car.
there is a serial # forged not stamped on the inside of the rim (very tiny).
I have photos and if any of you really want a close look I am in Tehachapi California or you can call me at 661-823-1337
so there it is guys, I am all ears.

thanks Steve

David Morton

Lifetime Supporter
Probably a hallibrand type Steve. If anyone has its mates or similar , and they are not too corroded you may get someone to take a punt. Failing which try it on EBAY. Thereafter, if you still have it , it could be a coffee table or a good paperweight.

Steve,

GT40 P/1012 is alive and well and its European owner is very enthusiastic about his car. Perhaps if you contact him, he may be interested in taking this wheel off your hands? Here is his website (in both English and French).

http://www.gt40-1012.com

It should be a Halibrand since P1012 was a spare MKII at the 1966 Le Mans under the Alan Mann team. It was not used. Its funny because an original Alan Mann built XGT-3 is up for sale in New York at the present time. This car was also used as a spare that did not race at the 1966 Le Mans. Were there anymore MKII spares?
Its main claim in its racing history was 2nd Spa 1966 and 7th Daytona 1967. However, I do not know that Halibrands are that rare. And since the car crashed and was destroyed and two P1012 evolved from it. Its anybodies guest at what one of its wheels is worth?