Inquiry about 1966 Le Mans

Hello,

My name is Jim Fowler and I live in the US. I am a long-time car model hobbyist and I have joined the forum to gather some information for my current project.

My inquiry has more to do with the 1966 LeMans race than the GT40 itself; but, it is actually in support of a diorama idea I am researchng centered around the GT40 Mk IIs of the race.

I have found plenty of stats that tell the finishing stats of the race; but, I have found none thusfar that list the starting grid order of the cars - all the cars, not just the GT40s.

I would like to construct a diorama of the cars at the start of the race in their original line-up - or at least possible a section of the line-up.

Would it be possible for someone to steer me to such info?

Thank you for your cooperation and support.

Best Wishes,

Jim Fowler

Hello
which scale will you built your diorama ? 1/43 ?
If you intend to locate all starting cars this diorama
will be at least 5 meters long at 1/43 scale ( it's the only scale where you can find almost kits and diecast models for all entries!!)
There are there in France quite many forums modellers where you can find the seached list but they are writen in French Language
Two books have been edited in where starting grids and many others informations are given ; these books are in sale at Lemans shop museum ( if not outof sale)
One of this book is quite interesting for a modeller as you because for each year all cars are shown with one color pic.
10 years ago these books where so usefull when I was finishing my1/43scale collect of all Le mans grids from 1923 to 2003 but un fortunatly now these books are in my grandsons "biblioteque"

Wow, I made a nice table for you, but how can you post that on the forum and make sure it can still be read...

I just included an Excel spreadsheet below, hope that is allowed.

John

Attachments

• Le Mans 1966.xls
    21.5 KB · Views: 423