Under ground/ basement garages

David Morton

Lifetime Supporter
Any body had experience of building a garage in a basement?
This year I rented an apartment in Italy and the garages were located under the block of apartments. Now I'm back for the winter and part of my plans are a house move in mid November, and the next house is located on the side of a hill. My plan is to excavate the area in front of the next house and build a 3 car garage along with another adjoining basement alongside for house utilities, plonk, and chill room. This is a cunning plan so as to extend part of the house above ground level by demolishing the existing garage.
My question is - has anybody done anything similar and if so, any pertinent advice ?
DM

I have no experience with anything like that, but after reading about the damage caused by Hurricane Katrina, I'd be really careful to make sure that any water that gets into your garage has an easy way to get out.

Other than that, it sounds like a nice idea.

David,

I can tell you from personal experience that unless you have a good French drain system in place and a sump pump with 12 volt backup in case of power failure, DON'T do it! My 40 was nearly inundated twice. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/shocked.gif Only by sheer luck, was I able to avoid disaster. A GT40 with 4" of ground
clearance, sitting in 3" of water, isn't a pretty sight!
Needless to say, I now have the aforementioned precautions in place.

Bill

David Morton

Lifetime Supporter
Thanks for the advice. The property is approximately 400 ft above the River Thames and is extremely well drained with a chalk subsoil base so flooding is not a concern though the Utilities side of the house will have a sump/pump system to help gravity anyway. My -40 lives somewhere else where blondes cannot back into it but I hear the warning.
Dave M