Riv-nut tool

Malcolm

Supporter
I am wanting to get a riv nut tool, preferrably air driven. Can anyone recommend any particular tool they have or where I could get one at a decent price. I tried Ebay but nothing showing. Also anything worth knowing before I buy?

Thanks in advance....

David Morton

Lifetime Supporter
Malcolm,
I've got a manual one you can borrow. I've no experience of an air driven one and having used rivnuts for a while it seems to be a case of softly softly very much feely as you put them in. Air operated might be a bit of overkill. It's made by Eclipse and its called a Spiralux. Inserts (RIVNUTS) vary in quality and my experience is the ones with vertical grooving are slightly harder to pull but do a better job and never seem to fail where as the other 'non grooved' ones can rotate quite easily on very thing gauge panels - but thats not a problem as you just reverse assemble the tool again and pull them a bit tighter. The thinnest of the mandrils (4mm ) can also easily shear off if you don't know your own strength.
Dave M

Malcolm, check McMaster Carr. I got mine from Bolhoff back when they had a distribution center nearby in New Hampshire. It looks like a pop rivet tool and you can change mandrels depending on the thread size of the Rivnut you're using. I would also think a pneumatic one would be overkill for anything other than a production environment.

Malcolm,

Davids spot on with his advice.

I,ve been using rivnuts for years without any problems. I ALWAYS use the nurled variety and you will have no problems in pulling them by hand. I think you would be ill advised to use air tools, if in fact you can get one, because riv-nutting requires a certain feel that only the wrist action can give. It is not just sheet metal that they can be used with and if you need any other advice you can always call me.

Graham @ GTA.

Malcolm