Help Please! Shipping a car from US to Spain

Dave Lindemann

Lifetime Supporter
I have a buyer for my Esprit. The challenge is the car is located in Minnesota and he is in Barcelona Spain. The car needs to be trucked from MN....probably to New Jersey where it can be placed in a single container and shipped to Spain. I've never done anything like this before. Can you folks offer any advice on shipping companies that could handle the entire shipping process?

Also, any advice on secure money transfers? The buyer will make a holding payment by wire transfer to my bank tomorrow. Is a direct wire transfer like this any gaurantee that the funds are "good"? I don't want to have the car picked up and shipped and find out later that the funds transfer was bogus.

Any input would be greatly appreciated!

Dave L

Last edited:

Fran Hall RCR

GT40s Sponsor
Dave,

I have a shipper that can take care of everything......he ships every RCR car overseas.....tell him I sent you.

Pat Knibbs
T - +44 (0)20 8751 5833
F - +44 (0)20 8751 6027
[email protected]

Last edited:

Ian Anderson

Lifetime Supporter
Dave

On the electronic / wire transfer if your bank notifies you the funds have hit your acount then they are good.

It is not like a cheque that can be bounced and you only find our a month later.

But be advised that most banks in Europe will say there is a minimum transfer time of 3 days. (They normally say 5) This is actually false but you may not see the money in your account till mid week.

If at all worried ask the seller to get the SWIFT100 message from his bank (It is a bank telex) and then have your bank confirm it has arrived - they may then also confirm the value date (cleared funds in your account) is immediate or a few days hence. (Your bank will not be able to trace the SWIFT without the magic reference numbers from the sending bank - like tryong to find a needle in a haystack)

Ian (Sad accountant?)

Dave Lindemann

Lifetime Supporter
Fran and Ian -