Name That Car

Keith

I'm on a roll today!!!

Easy ones first. These are all British (mainly) sports cars from the Golden Era..50's 60's and some 70's

5 Forum points for each answer and a bonus point for any interesting story attached to the particular car/model.

First Up..

18.jpg

Keith

Second Pic

I'll chuck up another one which some people on here MAY recognise :) and of course, a lot newer....

19.jpg

Keith

Well that'll please some people on this Board Damian!

Clue: It's British and a direct descendant of many cars on this forum.. :)

Keith

It's GOT to be the silly season, right Jim? OK I've got loads more pics, but if you'd rather guess aeroplanes so be it. Personally I'm not too good with hairyplanes.

Anyway, Pic 1 = Piper GT from 1968 and Pic 2 of course is our very old friend the GTD R42 - sexy though...

Here's number 3.

I'll make it easy for you Jim...as most of them will be purely British but maybe there's another strain in this one..

9-Copy.jpg

The clue is in the hood emblem....

Trident Venturer V6. Or a Clipper V8. Only know this one as a friend had one in the early 80's.
Darren

Last edited:

Keith

Very Impressed! Yes Unipower GT. Jac, it is not dissimilar to the Minigem but the Marcos front end was a total disaster in my book and looked as if it had collided with a bag of cement..

Number 4

12.jpg

Mention of the Mini Gem triggered a recent memory.

Amongst other things, I engrave compliance plates for strange vehicles as they pass through the (Australian Capital Territory) registration system.

A recent customer was a young man who was running the last yards towards rego on a 1969 Mini Gem. This car had certainly started to be assembled in 1969, but having passed through something like 8 subsequent owners, without achieving rego, the powers that be had decided that this vehicle should be treated as a 2010 build.

The poor bugger was being leant on to achieve 2010 emission levels with a 1969 BMC A series motor!