Anyone know anything about machining threads?

Hey guys, i figure someone here knows their way around a machine shop and could give me some advice.

I'm working on a project that's 2 5/16" in diameter. This is a thin walled piece that needs fine threads. The only standard thread that I can find (i'm not an engineer) is a 2 5/16 -16 UNS thread. The problem is that this is too coarse for my application, and i think the thread depth would be through the piece.

I have a machinist making the part for me, but hes doing this as a favor and asking me what threads to use. I don't know what to tell him. Can someone point me in the right direction with this?

Thanks,
John

The great thing about threads is you can make them any size you want if you are making both parts.

On a thin wall part I would probably use a UN form at 24TPI. Standard form carbide tips are available for both internal and external on this form. I am guessing you are making both the male and female thread. So in reality you can make it anything you want.

What you need to look at is the thickness of your part and then the depth of the threads to be cut to make sure you still have enough meat to do the job. If it were I doing the job I would probably put a 1mm pitch (as I have both tips for this pitch) on the Dia you have. I know that would be a bastard thread but does that really matter if you are making both parts.

You are unlikey to find a fine pitch tap at that size that will do the job, No thread that size listed in the Machinery's Handbook.

Hope this is helpfull

Yes, we will be making both parts and im sure its going to be done as a single point operation. The parts wall is only .09" thick (2.286mm).

I dont fully understand the relationship between the depth of the thread and the pitch. I would think that, for a given threading insert in a single point operation, that the shallower the thread is, the tighter the pitch would have to be.