Jim Marshall dies at 88 :~(

Jim Rosenthal

Supporter
It IS a sad day. More than anyone else, he was responsible for the sound of a whole generation of rock bands- Hendrix, Cream, The Who....his early amps are amazing. And LOUD.

Interesting side note- if you look at the circuit diagram of an early Marshall head, it's similar to the tweed early Fenders like the Bassman. Which, in turn, contains a lot of circuit designs that were commonly used in the era (I am not an electronics designer- my source for this is one of Aspen Pittman's books, I think) But Marshall adapted these circuits for different tubes and created a whole new generation of amps, some of which I've had the pleasure of playing through.

If you look down from above at a tweed bassman combo, it looks exactly like the face of an old Marshall head.

I've always felt a man should have a V8 and a Marshall before he dies. ;~)

Jim Rosenthal

Supporter
It does. I have one of the amps from that era, a 58 Bandmaster single 15"... I don't use it on gigs too much because it is so loud, but it is a great amp. When you play through a vintage tweed Fender, you really get what this is all about- why these amps are so sought after. They sound amazing and the response is as if it is alive.

Years ago, I spent some time and effort trying to find another amplifier that would do some things I thought the Fenders wouldn't do. I played a lot of amps, including custom made ones, and a couple that are supposed to be very close copies of Dumble amps, which are rare indeed. I never found anything that I liked as much as the old Fenders that I have, and I finally just gave up. Maybe there's something out there. I've never heard it, though.

Jeff Young

GT40s Supporter
You know what? The closest I've come to that sound is an early 60s Silvertone 1484. The outer materials are junk -- cheap fiberboard, etc. and the nobs and such the same, but the internals are Patridge, etc. and just kick ass.