Build times

I am trying to get a feel for how long it would take to build an SLC. Not for a newbie, and not for a professional shop. Has any of the SLC builders commented on their times? Thanks.

I am going a bit slowly right now on SL-C 009 finalizing decisions on some items such level of interior trim, etc. I am not a newbie and have at home DIY stuff, great tools, etc. Play with cars all the time. My build is a bit unusual as I'm using a modified LS-1 and 930 LSD gearbox, remote electric waterpump, and a few other items unique to my build. It's pretty straight forward and once I figure out all of my systems layouts the build I estimate will be completed within about 200 man hours (mine only).

Should you put it together as the Deluxe package the time will be a little less, again depending upon the level of finish you desire and interior trim items. It is just a bit more than a bolt together, but easily done nevertheless. I am quite pleased with my SL-C, RCR has done a creditable job!

Jack

Intend to post link to build site whenever I get it done. Be patient I'm spending time working on the car...soon I hope.

Doug S.

The protoplasm may be 72, but the spirit is 32!
Lifetime Supporter
...once I figure out all of my systems layouts the build I estimate will be completed within about 200 man hours (mine only).
Jack

Jack, I'm curious.....does this 200 hour estimate include any paint/body work?

Actually, I'm hoping for a product where I can just polish the gel-coat, but that would take some incredibly accurate panels. Imagine a component project where no body work would be necessary, no bondo, no sanding and blocking, none of that, just take a polisher to the gel coat!

Carbon Fiber might just be that product.......who knows? I like the woven look of the various CF aftermarket hoods I see on the rice rockets, wonder how an entire GT40 or SL-C would look in polished CF?