RCR vs. CAV

What are some of the differences between RCRs and CAVs? Is one more user friendly than the other, i.e. more comfy, that sort of thing? How does the aluminum chassis compare with stainless for rigidity? How do the two cars compare as far as ease of working on them? Which would you recommend and why?

'Ello John

Real answer is research thoroughly and make your own mind up as to which suits you best. Supporters of each will inevitably defend their decision.

However for what it’s worth I had CAV and RCR on my shortlist a couple of years back and chose the RCR (I am a degree qualified engineer who has done some motor racing just by way of background). Main reasons for the decision were
  1. Assuming broadly similar design skills an ally mono will be stiffer than ss for a given weight (e.g. aircraft are mostly ally where weight/strength is critical )
  2. I have found the ally relatively easy and forgiving to work in terms of cut out panel, bracket mounting etc
  3. The design and execution of the (unique to RCR) billet ally suspension is an elegant and well engineered bonus
  4. Overall I think the build of either RCR or CAV would be similar in terms of builder skills, both are at the quality end of the market
  5. Though not relevant to me the fact that RCR are US based is a benefit to Yanks
  6. User friendliness in terms of driveability is entirely a function of your personal choices during the build as these cars are very adjustable.
Hope this is useful, good luck with following your dream

John

John,

The difference for me is that RCR also make the MkII and MkIV bodies, and you can put a big block and a Ricardo or just about any other trans in them.

Julian

Lifetime Supporter
I am 6ft tall and although I admit I have not had the oportunity to sit in an RCR, the CAV is the only GT40 so far that I have been able to sit comfortably in whilst wearing a helmet and the specific car I sat in did not have a Gurney bubble.