How much space

Hi all, I'm Eric, been looking at kits since mid 80's when Armstrong motors made the Countach kit and the Montage was the cool car. Who did not love Hardcastle and Mcormick! Anyhow looking at finally doing it mid next year. One of the last things on the bucket list actually. For me, I built my own CNC have a patent for a gun part, I know how to weld, done tubing fabrication and I'm a software engineer by trade. Pretty handy overall. Hate electronics though.

Here is the thing, most builds I look at, dudes have dudes with private shops, 200ft driveways with gates, other multiple exotic cars and hobbies like race porches and pics of the projects with 35 cigarette playboy in the background which is completely awesome btw.

I'm kinda land locked, no room to build shop and HOA wont allow it anyhow and the wife is not moving. Makes we wonder, would I be the first suburban locked, no room for a shop, having to use my 2 car garage to build this? Makes me feel like I am missing something given all the properties I see this car getting built on.

I never built a kit car but I've built lots of stuff and recently I built a frame jig, designed frame in cad and made it from 100ft of tubing. Bent, notched and welded it. Kind of old school, figured as builders it may have some interest.

img0079ix.jpg

Howard Jones

Supporter
Hell Yes! A two car garage is plenty of room. Our friends in England could build 4 cars in a two car American garage. REALLY!!! The thing is sometimes things get a little tight but you can always put the bodywork out on the lawn for a few hours to give yourself some more room from time to time. Other parts can go under the bed or can be hung from the ceiling in the kids room!

Just do it!!!!!!

PeteB

GT40s Supporter
I'm building my SLC in a two car garage. You will need space somewhere to store the body parts while you're working on the chassis. I put mine on my screened-in back porch.

Firstly, welcome to the forum Eric!