Fran Hall GT 40?

OK,

I'm a total newbie to this group. And I am (sacrilege to many of you) a GM owner for years. I have 2 Corvettes and a Boss Hoss V8 motorcycle (which I plan to break 9 seconds in the quarter mile on the dyno drags in Daytona next week on an 1150 pound bike I ride to work most days).

But, I am a certified (maybe certifiable) motor vehicle nut, which Ron Earp can verify. Looking to maybe add a Cobra, but the GT40 is really interesting to me. Have been just looking for a while on the web site, very good detailed site.

With my job, I don't have time to build (Ron, the faculty at NC State are just too demanding) so need turnkey. Plus, can only get so much into my garage.

Don't mind swapping out engine, I've always driven a V8. NO AUTOMATICS.

Fran, can you send me some details on your V6? Also, I am not familiar with Ford V8's. Sure, I am aware of the 302 and 351 but not the big blocks. If I were to do this, what would I want for an engine in a reliable street legal GT40? No nitrous, methanol, jet fuel, etc. Needs to run on 92 or 93 pump gas. Looking for 350-400 horse.

Just looking for info. to get started in my search.

Thanks much.

Steve H. Barr

Ron Earp

Admin
Hey Steve,

Nice to see you here! You should come by sometime and take a look at the 40, it will give you a real idea of perspective. Also for fit too, I've got it to the point where you can basically "try it out".

I agree with the building. My job requires too much travel for me to effectively build, but still I peck away. And I know you don't have the time either - I basically haven't had a wife for five years (probably good, she doesn't miss me when I travel) since she works all the time on paper after paper, so I can understand you'd rather drive. The job requires a lot I know.