Questions on fibreglass techniques

I'm planning on making some modifications to my fibreglass bodywork. Nothing major, just some minor lip extensions and ribbing for locating screws etc. I’ve never worked with fibreglass before so have no idea where to start. I could start with the local supplier, but I’m sure that he deals mainly with marine applications. Should that matter? Are there pitfalls that I should know of?

The advice has always been that there is not much to it, but I’d also like to get some impressions from the home-users.

Chris, There is a lot to learn, where do I start? If you are bonding to something make sure it is roughed up by sanding & clean. Don't mix up more resin than you might need. The higher the temp. the faster it's going to harden.
Epoxy resins are the strongest & bond the best to existing composite structures, but it's the hardest to work with.
It's hard to hang fiberglass & resin in the air. I use a number of materials to make things. Example; I'll cover a piece of 1/4 plywood with aluminum foil, wax it with a good mould release wax, stik it in place with auto-body putty, do the lay up, & pull the foil covered ply off when the resin is cured. Finding the right materials is most important. Don't use epoxy resin with chopped strand mat.. use fiberglass woven cloth. 10 oz. & 6 oz. work well. Most fiberglass goods are geared to be used with polyester resins. There is a binder on these goods that disolves when polyester is introduced allowing the fibers to move freely. Epoxy doesn't do this. And use a real mould release wax, don't use 'butch's wax if you are making a small tempory mould. I could go on forever.... good luck!
wink.gif

Don't you also have to make sure the resin you're using in your modifications is the same as what was originally used on the shell (i.e., polyester resin on polyester-resin-based shell, epoxy on epoxy-based shell)?