Fuel Magnets - I want to perform some experiments

Ron Earp

Admin
Well,

The fuel magnets got dragged back up and I'm biting. I want to test these things out and want to get some assitance. Now, as some of you know I'm a scientist and love to explore things. Some months ago a rather heated debate started about fuel magnets and it was never really settled. Now, I'd like to run some very controlled experiments and find out what the deal is.

Now, I don't have any of the magnets so I'd like for someone to loan me theirs to try. Why loan, why not buy them? Well, I want a set from someone who feels they are working. I don't want to purchase a set only to have people say "oh, wrong type", "yours are broke", "not the same kind", etc. I'll give you a $200 deposit and return them to you at the end of the experiments.

I will use a single cylinder test engine, a Robins OHV 11hp motor hooked to a generator. I'll put a load on the generator, a constant 1500 watts, and monitor cylinder head temp, gasoline temp, current output, outside air temp, and engine RPM during the test. My intentions are to use 1 gallon of gas per test and see how long the generator can run.

I intend to make sure all conditions are the same from run to run. We'll purchase the gas all at once so that it is from the same "lot" leading to no variations. I'll run 3-5 baseline runs before installing the magnets, then do a like number of runs with the magnets. Afterwards a through statistical analysis will follow to determine if there are any statistical differences (I'm a Analyitcal Chemist, my wife has BS in math, MS in statistics and a Ph.D. in management science so we'll get this right for sure). Sample size may have to be increased but we'll see how it goes.