306 vs 342

Coast High Performance 306 vs Roush 342R. Below is a dyno chart of the 306 and below that is a link to the Roush dyno chart (brochure) of their 342R. Very similar hp and tq specs for both motors!

306 makes 460hp and 400 lbs-ft.
342R makes 450 hp and 420 lbs-ft.

Both motors make 325-ish lbs-ft at 3000rpm. Torque curves are near identical (342R a touch more torque). 306 uses hydraulic roller cam but is a "dominator" series motor. Does this mean it is streetable?

Would the 306 rev quicker than the 342? Which would you prefer and why?

I have been under the impression a 342 would produce more torque and do so lower in the rev range making for a more streetable motor...

dyno306_lrg.gif

Roush 342R brochure in pdf

Please feel free to ingone this as it's just my own opinion and I'm NOT a technical expert.
My 331 stroker engine (in my Cobra) suffered from awful piston knock from day one. Now I can't say they all will, in fact I know of people with 331 and 347 strokers who have no problem at all, but it just seems to me that having such a short piston skirt is not a good thing on a road engine.
As I said, this is just my opinion based solely on my experience, I'm sure there are far more experienced engine builders than me on the forum.
Simon

Jim Rosenthal

Supporter
As you know, I am no expert (someone else is building my motor and in terms of engine longevity this is probably a "good thing") but I will offer the following ideas:
GT40s are not heavy cars. With any reasonable torque and axle ratios they will accelerate like crazy, being light, mid-engined cars with phenomenal traction. The extra torque from a stroker motor may not be needed.