The end of the British Grand Prix???

F1 watchers will be aware of the long standing wrangling over the possible demise of the British GP on the calendar.

Currently it is not on the 17 GPs list for 2005 and this will be confirmed on OCt 13th if nothing else happens.

Up to now my mind has sided with Jackie Stewart and the BRDC and I have viewed Ecclestone's manouvering as plain greed but hearing him speak to a relatively small radio station I began to think maybe he was just being commercially honest. Today, as more facts emerge it seems that the BRDC has its head rather in the sand.

If you've been to Silverstone recently it is in a sad state and needs a complete rebuild not a makeover. It's better than in 1971 when I 'saw' Jackie Stewart win. Since there was no banking and as a student I couldn't think of stand tickets all I saw was occasionally flashes of his car.

I also read for the first time the list of 'old men in cloth caps' (to quote someone) who make up the BRDC board. Namely, JAckie Stewart (president), Ray Bellm (chair), Jackie Oliver, Mark Blundell, Tony Jardine (F1 commentator) plus a few others.
Check out this link itf it still works

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/main.jh...03/smprix03.xml

What do you think - should they do a deal or is Bernie shafting them?

The historcal significance of Silverstone and British racing heritage is far too great to allow the BGP to go away without a fight. It doesn't appear that the two sides are working well together(if at all) in trying to resolve this and other issues(see Jaguar, Cosworth). If Bernie doesn't work to keep the older, classic venues running, instead of trying to line his pockets with gold, in 10 years F1 may be right up there with "professional" wrestling! /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/shocked.gif Business is business and all that, but this behavior seems to be self destructive. Which venue will be given the axe next? /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/confused.gif

Bill

David Morton