Painting my '40

Painting my \'40

I've been giving some serious consideration to painting the '40 myself. I have done some paint work before but only on metals so I have limited knowledge of fibreglass. I have purchased several books on the subject but there is no substitute for hands on experience, so info as to prep & paint procedures would be gratefully received.

Re: Painting my \'40

Courtesy of the Cobra club site. It may not all be applicable but will give you an idea.....

HOW MUCH? a wise man once said me "You pay peanuts. you get monkeys! Painting your car is going to be the biggest worry you will probably face when building your Cobra, apart from explaining to the loved one that you have gone a bit over budget and need a few more quid for the wheels and tyres. If you have spent in the region of £15/20k on it, which most seem to do these days the last thing you need is an ok paint job which most people will walk by and say "Hmm, ok". What you want is a body job that people will walk up to and say "canine gonads, look at that finish, not only is it shiny but the doors fit and it's straight as a die", that's when your £15/20k will have been worth it. Anybody can paint a shiny car, but when you look down the sides does it look like the North Sea on a rough day? Can you see the interior through the door gaps, and, do the door edges rap your fingers when you polish it. Can you shut the door like a production car? Or do you have the Kit Car "Klunk" type? Well some of those things are the difference between painting a car and getting it to fit and look correct. We have finished probably 99% of the makes of Cobra kits around and a few others. Some are good, some are bad, some want using as a fish pond liner, but most suffer from nearly the same faults, which I'll list later! I will not comment on specific makes (as it could get expensive!) but must say that some of the best bodieswe have worked on are wait for it THE PILGRIM SUMO!!!