who are the builders?

I am a newbie here, and what a wonderful, informative site, however the more I read about the different manufacturers ( GT40 Reproductions), the more confusd I get. This is a thread from the Maufacturers forum: "ATTENTION: THIS IS A FORMAL STATEMENT FROM CARCRAFT AUTO WORKSHOP,CAPE TOWN ,TO CONFIRM THAT THE POSTING OF 15TH JANUARY 2004, WAS NOT POSTED BY THIS OFFICE,AND IS BEING INVESTIGATED.
WE WOULD HEREBY LIKE TO COFIRM THAT WE DO SUPPLY THE GT4TR KIT TO THE UK AND RSA ONLY,NOT THE USA.WE DO NOT BUILD THE CAV GT AND HAVE NEVER DONE SO.
PLEASE ACCEPT OUR APOLOGIES FOR ANY CONFUSION CAUSED.
YOUR SINCERELY

JOHN SPENCE AND JEAN FOURIE
. But my understand is that Carcraft and Autofutura make the CAV, now there is also a " Bailey Edwards" CAV GT, and there is also CAV... California Advanced Vehicles. How many CAV manufacturers are there, and one last question, Is superformance going to make a GT40 , and if so, where are they, in a timeline, to releasing their product? Any opinion on these questions would be a great help in the decision making process, I appreciate your time and attention. Thanks in advance. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/confused.gif

Mark Charlton

GT40s Supporter
Lifetime Supporter
Sorting out the manufacturers will not be all that hard if you spend a few hours combing the threads. There are Roaring Fourties and DRB (AUS), MDA and Toronado (UK), ERA, GT40NA and CJE (US), CAV (RSA) and probably a few more (or less...)

The larger issue for you is likely to be figuring out how to get one into Canada. I have only started to search, but I gather that there needs to be some special dispensation from Transport Canada to get any kit here. Somehow the CAV was allowed in, and there is a dealer in Calgary with at least two for sale (one with, and one without engine).