Not that this post belongs around here, but while waiting on my MDA to arrive, I've pondered the thought of a Porshce 906 build. Does anyone make a 906 kit in either stripped down kit form or rolling chasis. From the front it looks a little like a MK IV GT40.

Appreciate the assistance.

Jim

Jim,

I remember seeing a 906 replica for sale on the Mecanic Import website(Belgium) a couple of years ago. I'm not sure about accuracy, but it looked pretty close at a glance(I'm no expert on 906s though). I have no idea of who the manufacturer might have been, but perhaps Mecanic Import could steer you in the right direction?
www.mecanicimport.com
I just looked at their site, and the 906 replica is still listed at 85K Euros.

Bill

Chris Melia's putting together a fantastic looking 908 replica built from the original moulds - different from the 906 I appreciate, but a great pairing when you take into account the GT40/908 dice at Le Mans.

Rob

Rob, long time no hear.

Would that be the original long-tail version or the short-tail spyder Porsche 908...?

Jim,
Bill is correct.I know the 906 based at mecanicimport.
It is a replica that was built (I do not know where/who)by the owner of an orginal one that he used for circuit racing without taking the risk of damaging his original.
That is at least what I was told about the car.
If you want more info on the car and its origin, I suggest you ctc Mr de Biolley,owner of Mecanicimport
Rgds
Fred

I recall an article on a scratch-built Porsche 906 in "Excellence" magazine, I'll dig around the archives
and post info later.

Much prefer the 906 versus the 908, I think it's more "streetable..."

Rick /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/wink.gif

Jim,