Audi 016 Strengthened

This is very interesting. Is there any more info you can post, or better yet, is there a way to contact the guy who came up with this idea? It seems like a straight forward operation, but it would be interesting to see if it actually worked.

Has anyone here blown up their 016 with the same description of damage as this fellow has experienced?

I have had my box modified the rear bearing casting was machined out and a steel carrier was put in. The problem with the casting is that there is just not enough meat in the web of the casting to stop it breaking out when dumping the clutch. I have only just started driving my car and still sorting out a few teething problems so have not put any real power through the box. I know of one other guy who has had this mod done and has had no problems with it.
Regards
Paul R

Let me start by saying I am not a transaxle expert - but since I'm already in the process of developing a new R&P for the Audi 016 5N, I've had plenty of discussions with the folks at GTA (German Transaxle of America - in Portland, OR).

According to them, the typical failure of the cast iron section is usually due to a problem with the bearings. In an older box or one with enough wear, the bearing breaks down and there is then no preload on the shaft - in fact John said you can virtually spin it freely if wear is sufficient. When the bearings are the problem, then you have too much lash (play). Then when happy go lucky GT driver drops the clutch from 3500 or 4000 rpm, the shaft slams back and something is going to break. Thus, it's not that the cast iron piece is necessarily weak (albeit noone is saying it's indestructible), the problem probably started with issues with the bearing.